Video Game Review: Hitman: Absolution (PC)

Bought this game on sale a while ago, but only got around to playing it now. The reviews I read for this game were mixed and that worried me. Thankfully, I found the game really fun. I’ve spent about thirteen hours playing it on the PC.

Visually, it holds up well despite coming out a while ago. The environments are detailed and I really have to applaud the art direction of the game for such varied environments.

The story has the feel of a Quentin Tarantino/B-movie. It’s a fun, light story.

Voice acting ain’t bad. I recognized Vivica Fox. The portrayals are generally over the top, but so is the story.

Music is pretty good.

Gameplay is what you’d expect for a stealth game (like Splinter Cell or Metal Gear Solid). There are elements of action, but it’s mainly meant to be played like a stealth game. The main distinction in this game is the use of disguises. I wish more games had this feature and that it was more polished. In this game, there are a lot of kinks left to work out to make the disguise system more fun.

Score: 6.9/10 Really enjoyed the game. I only wish they didn’t penalize you for killing people other than the target. Splinter Cell: Blacklist rewarded players for whatever method they chose to take to finish a mission. I wish this game did the same.

Leave a Reply

