Restaurant Review: Il Pesce

wp_20160908_001

Details: Located at 4 World Trade Center, 101 Liberty Street, Floor 3, New York, NY 10007. Official site is https://www.eataly.com/us_en/stores/nyc-downtown/

Came back to Eataly for a third time and, to be honest, I was getting a little tired of it. We went to Il Pesce, a place that specializes in seafood or fish.

Somewhat ironically, we did not order any of the major fish dishes. We just ordered their three pasta dishes, a squid ink pasta with mussels in a white wine sauce, a crab meat pasta, and a tomato sauce pasta with anchovies I think. All were very good as pasta usually is.

As unusual as it sounds, I just could not lean towards a fish dish at a place that specializes in fish for one primary reason: I do not like how the western world prepares fish. I’ve had good western fish (a bronzino comes to mind). However, in my opinion, the best preparations of fish are either from eastern Asian countries or take inspiration from eastern Asian countries. I’ve seen  contemporary Western restaurants make good fish dishes, but they seem to take inspiration from the rawness of eastern Asian or Japanese cuisine. The best fish dishes I’ve ever had have been undoubtedly from eastern Asian restaurants. So when I see fish on the menu in a western restaurant, I can’t help but hesitate from ordering it.

Score: 6/10 Pasta was good. Freshest pasta I’ve ever had in New York City is from Eataly.

Leave a Reply

