Restaurant Review: Nan Xiang Xiao Long Bao vs. Joe’s Shanghai

Details: Nan Xiang is located at 38-12 Prince St., Flushing, NY 11354. Joe’s Shanghai is located at 136-21 37th Ave., Flushing, NY 11354, among other locations.

I think if you were to ask most people in New York City where to get soup dumplings, they’d probably answer with Joe’s Shanghai. And while Joe’s Shanghai is pretty good, the answer you’d get from asking a bunch of Flushing natives would undoubtedly be Nan Xiang Xiao Long Bao. From what I’ve been told, Joe Shanghai’s is really a decoy for tourists. The less crowded, just as good if not better place is Nan Xiang. Personally, I’ve had both and I actually prefer Nan Xiang because it is less crowded and for the cold appetizers they have.

At Joe’s Shanghai, a typical dinner would include soup dumplings, the Shanghai fried noodle, and scallion pancakes. At Nan Xiang, a typical meal consists of the soup dumplings, the Shanghai fried noodle, the scallion pancake wrapped with beef, and cold appetizers. Personally, I like the Khao Fu, which is just marinated gluten with mushrooms and some kind of root I think. I think it may be vegetarian.

I will say that Joe’s Shanghai has the better plain scallion pancake. Nan Xiang’s however has the scallion pancake wrapped with beef which makes it better in my opinion. Add on the cold appetizers and I think Nan Xiang is easily the winner between the two.

Score for Joe’s Shanghai: 6.7/10

Score for Nan Xiang Xiao Long Bao: 7.2/10

Leave a Reply

