Restaurant Review: Maharlika

Details: Located at 111 1st Ave., New York, NY 10003. Official site is http://maharlikanyc.com/

Came here with some friends. I don’t really eat Filipino food that often, but the few times I’ve had it, I’ve loved it. It’s also nice to see the proliferation of Filipino restaurants in the city. I feel like a lot of other Asian varieties have had their turn becoming popular and now it’s time for Filipino food to get its turn.

The interior isn’t huge, but it’s decently sized. We got sent towards the back of the restaurant and sat on some benches. Not as bad as it sounds. The place was pretty packed after we sat down so make a reservation if you plan on going.

We ordered the sisig (like a Filipino hash, served in a small cast iron frying pan, has various fatty pieces of pork mixed in a sweet savory sauce), the Kare Kare (oxtail with string beans, egg plant, bok choy, in a peanut butter sauce), the pork Adobo (ribs braised in Adobo sauce with potatoes), the leg of some animal I can’t recall (probably pig) confit, and some garlic rice.

Everything was pretty good. The sisig is almost always my favorite part of dinner at a Filipino restaurant. This sisig was no exception and went well with their tasty garlic rice. The Kare Kare was okay, but that peanut butter sauce gets real tiring real fast. It’s only good for the first few bites. Pork adobo was great. It was really vinegar-y, which I like. The confit wasn’t great. I realized while eating this that I have yet to enjoy confit anything. The first time I had something confit was duck confit at a French restaurant, which wasn’t great now that I think about it. It was too dry and too hard. I was expecting something crunchy and tender. Confit is not that way, nor was the confit here. I recommend not ordering that.

The service was very nice. Additionally, I think that they’ve rewritten their menu or something because the menu doesn’t exactly match what was on their Yelp page.

Score: 6.3/10 I recommend this place. Solid choice for some Filipino Food. They also have balut (bird embryo boiled and served in its shell)… which I feel is grotesque. People whom I know have tried it, didn’t really like it. It’s just one of those thing you do to look macho and cool, like worms in your tequila. It’s a novelty more than anything else. Although if you want to freak out your friends, this is a solid way to do that.

2 Replies to “Restaurant Review: Maharlika”

    1. I’d be happy to review a preview. Do you have a link? If you’re worried about privacy, you can post a comment and I simply won’t approve it. That should stop it from appearing in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

