Restaurant Review: Hale and Hearty Soups

Details: Located at 49 W 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036, among other locations. Official site is http://www.haleandhearty.com

Hale and Hearty is a chain restaurant serving soups, salads, sandwiches, and more recently, bowls, with many locations throughout the city. If you live in New York City, you’ve probably had it before.

In the past, I generally relied on the Cream of Tomato Soup with Chicken and Orzo with a half sandwich of chicken, avocado and balsamic vinegar. More recently, I’ve given up on their sandwiches and just gone for their seafood soups, like their bisque and chowders. I also like the cheesy soups and their macaroni and cheese. I never get the salad because I feel like I can get a similar quality salad for cheaper elsewhere.

What I really appreciate about this place is that they give as many free samples as you want. Most of my trips involve me trying four different soups before landing on my final choice. It’s a nice thing for Hale and Hearty to do.

The only real objection I have for this place is the price. It’s around ten dollars for a bowl of soups and a piece of bread. For something that is mostly hot water, I wish it were cheaper. Otherwise, I do enjoy the soups here and the occasional sandwich.

Something new they’re trying are bowls. I think I saw a Korean beef bowl. Never tried it and probably never will. It’s just not competitively priced in terms of quantity when compared to places like Chipotle. Chipotle is the standard I generally use to compare the prices and quantity of what I buy for lunch.

Score: 5.9/10 I don’t come here as much as I used to, but I do enjoy a good soup every now and again. Unfortunately, there aren’t that many soup competitors with as many locations in New York City. For now, Hale and Hearty wins the crown for most convenient and reliable source of soup at this price point.

Leave a Reply

