Restaurant Review: iCook Buffet

Details: Located at 133-24 42st Ave., Flushing, NY, 11355. I couldn’t find an official site so here’s their yelp page: https://www.yelp.com/biz/icook-buffet-flushing

iCook Buffet is an all you can eat hot pot place in Flushing. I’ve written about hot pot before. To summarize, hot pot is when they give you a pot of broth and let you cook the food yourself. Often times it’s communal in that there is a big pot in the middle for everyone to share. iCook Buffet gives each person individual pots so you don’t need to mix food.

You can choose from four kinds of broth. I think they were clear, spicy, something with a bone in it, and a fourth that I can’t recall. They’ve got all the classic stuff like fatty beef, leaner beef, lamb, fish, spicy/numbing pickled fish and beef, fish balls, seafood, vegetables, etc. I enjoyed my time here. I usually do at all you can eat hot pot.

Service was so-so. They all have tablets to take your orders so it was easy to just point at things in case you don’t speak Chinese. They mostly speak Chinese here.

Total price for hot pot was around $22.00. I came here on a weekend afternoon.

They also do all you can eat Korean barbecue, which I did not select. No opinions from me, but I read some reviews off Yelp and the reviews crapped all over their Korean barbecue. It’s probably safer just to do hot pot. Plus, the Korean barbecue looks like it costs extra.

Score: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

