Restaurant Review: Chop’t

Details: Located at 11 W 42nd St., New York, NY 10036. Official site is http://choptsalad.com/

I’ve come here a few times simply because I was tired of eating everything in the area around my workplace. With this lack of options in mind, I was forced to try Chop’t.

Chop’t is a chain of restaurants that make chopped salads, assembly line style. It’s like Chipotle, but for chopped salads. The only difference between chopped salads and regular salads is… that they chop the lettuce in front of you. That’s it. They have your standard, popular salads here, like the Cesar and the Cobb salads. Pricing is generally around ten dollars, but mostly higher than that. Also worth mentioning is that around lunchtime, there is often a line going out the restaurant of people wanting to get Chop’t.

I’ve tried the Cesar and a southwestern salad, among others. It’s all right and priced a dollar or so higher than other salad makers in the area. I think what I noticed most about Chop’t or this Chop’t in particular is the kind of people who come here. The people here are generally well dressed employees who are pretty rude and pushy. I don’t know what it is about this location, but I could feel the pretentiousness of everyone coming in here and the way they treated the service people as well as other customers was disgusting. At first, I thought it was my imagination, but the customer base of people who come to this specific Chop’t location are generally pretty shitty. Every time I’ve come here some lady cuts me in line at the register/salad assembly or pushes/shoves me. I’m not sure why this is occurring, but something about this chain of chopped salads seems to attract these kinds of people.

Overall, the salad wasn’t great. Coming here is a chore because I have to  deal with these assholes who frequent the Chop’t at Bryant Park. There are other salad makers in the area who do it for cheaper for the same or better quality of salad. These other locations are also less crowded and offer more ingredients into their salads for about the same price.

Score: 3.7/10

Leave a Reply

