Restaurant Review: Ironside Fish & Oyster

Details: Located at 1654 India St, San Diego, CA 92101. The official site is http://www.ironsidefishandoyster.com/

I went to San Diego recently so there’s going to a bunch of San Diego related reviews.

When I got here the place was packed. It is lively and comfortable. The interior was nice as was the service people.

I ordered the fish and chips for sixteen dollars. It came with battered and fried fish, french fries, and coleslaw. The fish was good and the fish was very fresh and flaky. The batter was a little soggy however. The fries were fine. The coleslaw really surprised me. There were nuts and I think dried cranberries in it… or perhaps dried grapes. It’s surprising how a little thing like that can add so much to coleslaw. If it isn’t clear, I enjoyed the coleslaw very much. There were also two cups of sauce… I think they were both tartar sauce but I’m not sure.

I’ve had a lot of fish and chips throughout my life. Mostly in New York, not in the United Kingdom. It’s always been pretty disappointing. This place’s fish and chips were not. In fact, this was probably the best fish and chips I’ve ever had. To be clear, this was not a high bar to pass, but the fish and chips were still good.

Worth mentioning is that the kitchen is in the back and in plain view for the customers. Watching the chefs work was informative in that it is a very clean, organized, and professional kitchen. It’s clear after a glance that the people working in that kitchen have likely had formal training at a cooking school or a lot of experience in the industry, especially the guy who was giving the final once-overs on the plates before they were being sent out.

Overall, a fun, lively place with good seafood that I can easily recommend.

Score: 7/10

Leave a Reply

