Restaurant Review: Ong Ga Nae Korean BBQ

Details: Located at 936 South Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90006. I couldn’t find an official site so here’s the yelp site: https://www.yelp.com/biz/ong-ga-nae-korean-bbq-los-angeles

I came here for dinner on a Sunday I think. We ordered the Ong Ga Nae Special Combo B. It came with prime rib eye, prime beef brisket, boneless beef, marinated beef rib, and the pork belly. You could substitute the marinated beef rib for not marinated beef rib and the pork belly for beef tongue or chicken bulgogi. Altogether, it cost $99.99, not including tax and tip.

As with most Korean barbecue places, we got the onslaught of complimentary appetizers or banchan. There were a lot of things and I’m too lazy to list them all out. All I’ll say is that there were a lot and I ate a lot of the potato and egg salad one.

All the meat was good. It wasn’t by and far the greatest Korean barbecue I’ve ever had, but it was really good. If you’ve had really bad Korean barbecue, you’d know it and this wasn’t it. However, I’m not a good enough Korean barbecue connoisseur to know what amazing Korean barbecue tastes like. As long as it hits a certain threshold of tastiness, it’s great to me. This was pretty great to me.

The service people were all really nice. They cook everything for you at your table so you don’t need to worry about anything.

The interior was fine. It’s a Korean restaurant. What’s interesting is that, including this restaurant, many Korean restaurants share the same aesthetics when it comes to interior decorating. They don’t try to do anything outside a certain realm of colors and furniture. I don’t mind it in the least. Just an observation.

Overall, a good place to get Korean barbecue. I think I still prefer an all you can eat Korean barbecue place versus this place because I’ve had Korean barbecue of a similar quality and price, except that it was all you can eat versus a set amount. No reason to pay more for less.

Score: 7/10

Leave a Reply

