Movie Review: The Green Mile

Details: Released in 1999. Over three hours long. Stars Tom Hanks, Michael Clarke Duncan, David Morse.

I’ve read a lot of positive opinions about The Green Mile and how its a tear-jerker. It’s a good movie, but not a masterpiece.

The Green Mile takes place during the Great Depression in the south of the United States. A new prisoner has been admitted to death row with a supernatural secret.

I have a lot of problems with this movie. First, it’s over three hours long. They could’ve cut out an hour of the movie. Secondly, the story is kind of hard to believe at times. I know that this is fiction, but you have to immerse me into that fiction and make sure that you adhere to the rules you established in this fictional world. They generally do so, but there are leaps that the plot makes that made it hard for me to stay with. There’s also the many cliché narrative elements like an old man telling a story of when he was young and that this was all a flashback.

Despite these issues I had with the film, I mostly enjoyed the movie. I don’t think it’s one of the greatest films of all time. Not by a long shot. But I did like it and I think it was mostly because of the acting. There are a lot of familiar faces in this film and they all put forth great performances. While there may be narrative weaknesses in this movie, the acting of the actors overshadows all of that with its great performances.

Overall, I enjoyed the movie. The story was okay, but those performances were great. I would even go so far to say that almost all of the enjoyment I got out of this film was from the performances that the actors gave. The Green Mile is worth a watch… if you have over three hours to spare.

Score: 7/10

Leave a Reply

