TV Show Review: Supernatural, Season 12

Details: Aired on the CW. Twenty-three episodes this season with each episode at around an hour-long, commercials included.

While not the longest running show ever, Supernatural has been on T.V. a long time. We’ve now entered the twelfth season and I think the formula of this show is well established. I like the sameness and knowing the plot beats I can expect to see, except in slightly different forms. I like this show the way it is and I do not want it to change.

This season introduces Dean and Sam’s mother as well as the British Men of Letters. As usual, we get a bunch of stand alone episodes with different monsters of the week (which I like) as well as overarching plot points involving some world ending disaster the Winchesters must save us from. It’s a tried and true formula and I look forward to it every season.

It’s sad, I know, but Supernatural is like a comforting blanket that I’ve been  using for the last decade. I know its got holes and isn’t a very creative or high quality blanket, but it meets my needs in a television show so I keep watching.

Acting is about the same, which is fine. The humor and the horror is the same as the last eleven seasons, which is fine. It’s more of the same, so if you like what came before, then you’re going to like this season. If you didn’t like past seasons, then you’re not going to like this one.

Overall, I enjoyed this season and look forward to the next. I also like when they play to the fandom and try new things, like in a recent article that hinted they are going to have an animated episode in season thirteen where they team up with Scooby Doo. Awesome.

Score: 6.8/10

Leave a Reply

