Restaurant Review: Blue Ocean Poke

Details: Located at 47 W 55th St, New York, NY 10019. I couldn’t find an official site so here’s their Yelp page: https://www.yelp.com/biz/blue-ocean-poke-new-york-3

Like weeds, poke place have spawned across New York City and don’t seem to be going anywhere anytime soon. Poke, is essentially a Hawaiian style sashimi salad. That means raw fish with rice, vegetables, and sauce among other toppings. Blue Ocean Poke is another one of these poke places.

The process works as follows: you pick your starch (usually some kind of rice), then vegetables (kale or romaine), then you pick two proteins (which are raw fish), then you pick a sauce and some toppings like seaweed, garlic, corn, etc. It all comes out to about twelve dollars.

I’ve eaten poke a couple of times and I can now undoubtedly say that I don’t like poke. I also did not like it here. Compared to the poke I’ve had elsewhere, it was about the same as any other poke place. I just don’t like poke. It lacks preparation. It’s just a bunch of ingredients thrown together without much thought. It’s also the same with steak tartare. I need a little more preparation in order for me to appreciate it. For example, sushi is still good to me, at least the expensive kind is.

Score: 5/10

Leave a Reply

