Fast Food Review: McDonald’s Mighty Hot Sauce

Details: More information can be found at https://www.mcdonalds.com/us/en-us.html

Score: 7/10

The last time I tried to get my hands on this sauce, they were sold out for weeks. I eventually tried to get this stuff again and was finally successful.

McDonald’s Mighty Hot Sauce is a hot sauce served specifically with their spicy chicken nuggets. I’m not entirely sure, but I think you can only get this stuff if you order spicy chicken nuggets. In any case, I ordered some spicy chicken nuggets and got this stuff too.

The most unique thing about this sauce is the sweetness. It’s a lot like McDonalds other spicy sauce, the sweet chili sauce. I looked at the ingredients and the sweetness comes mostly from apricots. Additionally, the sauce is much hotter than the sweet chili sauce. I don’t know if the sauce itself is very hot, the spicy nuggets are very hot, or the combination of the two was very hot, but it was pretty spicy for me (though I have a relatively low spice tolerance). It was so spicy, that the spice lingered and turned my Big Mac into a spicy Big Mac (which wouldn’t be a bad idea for future McDonald’s products). I think that’s a good thing, as there already are a lot of spicy fast food sauces. Making a spicy sauce that is substantially hotter than comparable fast food spicy sauces is a good idea and distinguishes McDonald’s. Of course, it is spicier only in my opinion. I wonder how other people who are more accustomed to spicy food will feel about it.

Overall, it a good sauce, but a not a good justification for ordering the spicy nuggets (I’ve reviewed the spicy nuggets in the past and basically feel that they are not worth it). If you can get the sauce with some regular nuggets, it’ll still be good.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.